Masonry Design Awards » 2011

Questions about your submission?

Contact Us

The Masonry Contractors Association of Alberta (MCAA) presented the 2011 Alberta Masonry Design Awards on Friday, April 8th, 2011 at a gala event held at the BMO Centre in Calgary. The Awards are given every four years and acknowledge excellence, innovation and design in the use of masonry in Alberta construction.

Scroll down to see the Award categories to which projects may be submitted by any of the development partners involved and the 2011 winners.

Presidential Award
Artistic Use of Masonry
Commercial Building
Educational / Institutional
Multi-Family Residential
Single-Family Residential
Structural Masonry


Award of Excellence

Coach House

Designer:  Richard Lindseth Architecture Inc.
General Contractor:  Hassell Construction
Masonry Contractor:  Ib Jensen Masonry Ltd.

Award of Merit

Connaught School

Owner:  Bentall Lp for CBE
Designer:  Gibbs Gage Architects
General Contractor:  EllisDon
Masonry Contractor:  Pockar Masonry Ltd.

Other Entry

Enterprise Square, University of Alberta Downtown Campus

Owner:  University of Alberta
Designer:  Stantec Architecture Ltd.
General Contractor:  Clark Builders
Masonry Contractor:  Scorpio Masonry (Northern) Inc.
Engineer:  Read Jones Christoffersen

Other Entry

Mewata Armoury Masonry Rehabilitation ASC

Owner:  Defence Construction Canada
Designer:  Simpson Roberts Architecture Interior Design Inc.
General Contractor:  Westcor Construction Ltd.
Masonry Contractor:  Gracom

Other Entry

The Railway Cafe and Orientation Centre at Heritage Park

Owner:  Heritage Park
Designer:  Gowling and Gibb Architects
General Contractor:  Stuart Olson Dominion Construction Ltd.
Masonry Contractor:  Pockar Masonry Ltd.
Engineer:  David C. Woodall Structural Engineering

Questions about your submission?

Contact Us