Masonry Design Awards 2015

The Masonry Contractors Association of Alberta (MCAA) presented the 2015 Alberta Masonry Design Awards on Friday, April 10th, 2015 at a gala event held in Hall D at the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton. The Awards are given every four years and acknowledge excellence, innovation and design in the use of masonry in Alberta construction.

Presidential Award

Award of Excellence

Alberta Hotel
Owner:  Five Oaks Inc.
Designer:  Dub Architects Ltd.
General Contractor:  TC Biggs Construction Ltd.
Masonry Contractor:  Remo’s Masonry
Masonry Supplier:  IXL Masonry Supplies Ltd
Conservation consultant and expert:  College of Stone Carving and Resoration
Engineer:  Protostatix Engineering Consultants In

Artistic Use of Masonry

Award of Excellence

St. Mary’s Parish
Owner:  St. Mary’s Parish
Designer:  The LeBlond Partnership
General Contractor:  Golden Triangle Construction
Masonry Contractor:  Pockar Masonry Ltd.
Masonry Supplier:  IXL Masonry Supplies Ltd.
Engineer:  David C. Woodall Structural Engineering Ltd. (Completed while with A. D. Williams Engineering Inc.)

Commercial Building

Award of Excellence

Canmore Multiplex
Owner: Town of Canmore
Designer: Gibbs Gage Architects
General Contractor: Graham Construction & Engineering LP
Masonry Contractor: Gracom Masonry (Brxton)
Masonry Supplier: Expocrete Concrete Products Ltd.
Supplier: Brock White Canada Company
Supplier: Fero Corporation
Engineer: Cascade Engineering Group

Educational/ Institutional

Award of Excellence

St. Joseph Seminary
Owner: The Catholic Archdiocese of Edmonton
Designer: DIALOG
General Contractor: Dawson Wallace Construction Ltd.
Masonry Contractor: Park Brick and Block Limited
Masonry Supplier: I*XL Masonry Supplies
Engineer: DIALOG


Award of Excellence

Legislature Building Major and
Minor Dome Roof Replacement
Owner: Alberta Infrastructure
Designer: n/a
General Contractor: Gracom (BRXTON)
Masonry Contractor: Gracom (BRXTON)
Masonry Supplier: Boston Valley Terra Cotta
Masonry Expert: BBStek Design
Ceramic Expert: Brampton Brick
Engineer: Building Science Engineering

Single Family Residential

Award of Excellence

Priddis Residence
Designer: Lighthouse Studio
General Contractor: Cana Management Ltd.
Masonry Contractor: Pockar Masonry Ltd.
Landscape Architect: Paterson Design Group Inc.
Interior Design: Louise Middleton/Jacqui McFarland

Structural Masonry Design

Award of Excellence

Jean Baptiste Sewepagaham Elementary School
Owner: Little Red Cree Nation / Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Designer: A&E Architectural & Engineering Group Inc.
General Contractor: Jen-Col Construction Inc.
Masonry Contractor: K.Hansen Masonry Ltd.
Masonry Supplier: Cast Supply Inc.
Mechanical Engineering Consultant: Stantec Engineering
Electrical Engineering Consultant: WSP Canada Inc.
Engineer: Williams Engineering Canada Inc. (Structural Engineering Consultant)

Thin Masonry Veneer – Commercial

Award of Excellence

Eighth Avenue Place East Tower- Stone Work
Owner: Hines as agent for Immeubles SNPL Inc
Designer: Gibbs Gage Architects
General Contractor: EllisDon Construction Services Inc.
Masonry Contractor: G & A Masonry Ltd.
Masonry Supplier: Campolonghi Italia S.p.a.

Thin Masonry Veneer – Residential

Award of Excellence

The Gala In Applewood
Owner: Applewood Partnership Ltd
Designer: NORR Architects
General Contractor: Applewood Development Ltd
Masonry Contractor: Bear Stone Masonry
Masonry Supplier: Brock White Canada
Business Partner: Bear Stone Masonry
Masonry Supplier: Lafarge
Engineer: Wiebe Forest Engineering