Masonry Design Awards 2019

Alberta Masonry Council presented the 2019 Alberta Masonry Design Awards on Friday, April 12th, 2019 at a gala event held at the Hudson in Calgary on Stephen Ave. The Awards are given every four years and acknowledge excellence, innovation, and design in the use of masonry in Alberta construction.

Beesley the Calgary Flames announcer emceed with Darrel Babuk as the Keynote Speaker.  Brett Wilson from Dragon’s Den also attended.

Presidential Award

Award of Excellence

Georgian Residence
Designer: DeJong Design Associates Ltd
General Contractor: Waterford Homes Inc
Masonry Contractor: Stonehouse Masonry Inc.
Masonry Supplier: Brock White Construction Materials
Engineer: Cascade Engineering Group

Artistic Use of Masonry

Award of Excellence

Real Time Control Building
Owner: City of Edmonton
Designer: gh3
General Contractor: Maple Reinders
Masonry Contractor: Scorpio Masonry (Northern) Inc.
Masonry Supplier: I-XL Building Products

Commercial Building

Award of Excellence

Edmonton Brewery District
Owner: First Capital Realty
Designer: DIALOG
General Contractor: Synergy Projects
Masonry Contractor: Scorpio Masonry (Northern) Inc.
Masonry Supplier: Cast Supply

Educational/ Institutional

Award of Excellence

Elbow Park Elementary School
Owner: Calgary Board of Education
Designer: Gibbs Gage Architects
General Contractor: Stuart Olson
Masonry Contractor: IB Jensen Masonry Ltd.
Masonry Supplier: I-XL Building Products
Engineer: MMP Structural Engineering Ltd.

Multi Family Residential

Award of Excellence

Owner: Yorkton Group International
Designer: KENNEDY
General Contractor: Chandos Construction
Masonry Contractor: Park Brick & Block Ltd
Masonry Supplier: Cast Supply
Engineer: Protostatix Engineering Consultants